We are experts in manufacturing and exporting high quality artists papers and fine art inkjet papers. We use one of the few cylinder mould machines left in the world together with natural woollen felts. Our master papermakers produce beautiful papers with stunning texture and excellent surface stability.
Tel: +44 (0)1749 672015
Wednesday, 1 October 2014
Sculpture by Sam Moulsdale at Quarter Jack pub in Wells, Somerset
If you visit 'The Quarter Jack' pub in Wells, Somerset, look out for this amazing sculpture by Sam Moulsdale. The details below are inscribed next to this impressive piece that was created using St Cuthberts Mill papers!
"The original paper sculpture was
commissioned by JD Wetherspoon and includes the lines from a poem entitled
“Mendip Hills over Wells” by Henry Alford. Alford was born in Somerset in 1810.
In 1853 he moved to London and then onto the Cathedral at Canterbury where he
was made Dean in 1857, he died in 1871.
The sculpture by Sam Moulsdale is
made from paper manufactured at St Cuthberts Mill, Wells. The inspiration for
this piece and the materials used share their origins with the vast and
captivating landscape of the Mendip Hills. Drawing from the atmospheric light,
the undulating horizons and the rugged nature of the weather, the suggestion of
these elements are juxtaposed, producing a sense of the constantly changing
nature of the view.
Detail from the sculpture by Sam Moulsdale
The key material, taken from
nature itself, is hand worked at the Local St Cuthberts Paper Mill, located in
the small hamlet of Haybridge outside the Cathedral City of Wells. When ripped
and torn it provides a subtlety of interpretation that closely echoes the rough
shapes, promontories and undulations of the hills. The organic material is a
metaphor for the organic landscape. The weaving, floating and overlaying implying
dynamism of perpetual atmospheric change.
St Cuthberts Mill history began
around 1738 when it was known as “Kingston’s Mill” and was owned by Rev Robert
Kingston. In 1742 the mill was described as Lower Wookey Mill and in 1786 was
leased to Joseph Coles who in 1797 recorded the first Joseph Coles watermarks.
In 1886 the name was changed to
St Cuthberts Mill and four years later £38,000 was spent on expanding buildings
(to present frontage – the “Buckingham Palace” of paper mills.) The following
year St Cuthberts stock papers were marked with a lion but lobbying of the
company persuaded them to change the watermark to the City of Wells shield from
1897. In this same year the landmark new chimney was constructed from 300,000
specially made bricks.
Chimney at St Cuthberts Mill
In 1907 the new No.2 machine, the
86” Bertram was installed and is still in use today. In 1973 St Cuthberts Mill
sold the Wookey Hole Mill site to Madam Tussauds."